• Scott Morrell
    Organization Development
    Consultant

  • Menu

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 6 other subscribers
  • Share this blog

    Bookmark and Share

4 Critical Levels of Decision Making

So you’re new to a leadership position? How will your followers know when you are making a decision alone or with their input? You’ve heard yourself say, “I have an open door policy” but what does that really mean?

In my executive coaching practice I make certain new leaders, this is a good reminder for seasoned leaders too, know the Four Critical Levels of Decision Making. In the book Fast Forward Leadership (Essex & Kusy, 1999) provides a great reminder for leaders when making decisions.

  1. Level One – I decide with no input
  2. Level Two – I decide with your input
  3. Level Three – We decide together with consensus
  4. Level Four – You decide without my input

Using this simple hierarchy will aid you, the leader in getting off on the right foot. Your team will enjoy the clarity too!

Scott Morrell

www-scott-morrell.com

Leave a comment